College of Business Faculty Assembly Minutes

Date: April 26, 2023 Time: 2pm to 4pm

Location: Hybrid - SFC107 and Zoom

Quorum is met.

- 1. Meeting called to order by Kuntal Banerjee.
- 2. Approval of Minutes from February 15, 2023 Faculty Assembly Approved.
- 3. Update on COB Curriculum Review Committee Ethlyn Williams
 - Committee members Chair, Ethlyn Williams, Management; Julia Higgs, Accounting; Dominique Fuentes, Business Communications; Bill Bosshardt, Economics; Sofia Johan, Finance; Jonathan Sweet, ITOM; Melanie Lorenz, Marketing; Kimberly Paulus; Academic Services
 - Charged with reviewing the upper division core and make recommendations for updates.
 - Tentative timeline:
 - Phase I: Learning (Spring 2023; Fall 2023)
 - Phase 2: Design (Fall 2023)
 - Phase 3: Refinement (Spring 2024)
 - Phase 4: Committee approvals (Fall 2024)
 - Phase 5: Soft Launch (Spring 2025)
 - Phase 6 and ongoing: Go live, continuous review and improvement (Fall 2025 and beyond)
 - (In-State) Peer & Aspirant Institutions Kimberly Paulus and Jonathan Sweet
 - There are 18 institutions whose business core is being reviewed.
 - Four are considered peer institutions; One is an aspirant institution; the other
 13 are other AACSB accredited institutions.
 - (Out of State) Peer & Aspirant Institutions Melanie Lorenz and Sofia Johan
 - There are 10 peer institutions and 5 aspirant institutions.
 - Approaches to Communication Dominique Fuentes
 - In-State Peer and aspirant institutions
 - √ 10 / 18 have GEB 3213 type course
 - Out of State peer and aspirant institutions
 - ✓ 9 / 15 have GEB 3213 type core course
 - Trend: Personal "Professional development" core courses: 9 / 19 coded as communication-based

- Take-aways from AACSB Conference on Innovative Curriculum Design Bill Bosshardt
 - In revising a program, keep the focus on the students' needs.
 - Many sessions were devoted to diversity, equity and inclusion.
 - Large number of ways to redo a curriculum.
 - Emphasis on skills needed by students.
 - Technology and data were highlighted.
 - Courses on career guidance included.
- Final Thoughts Ethlyn Williams
 - For fall, consider 1 innovation you can make to the core course you teach.
 - Complete the faculty survey.
 - Join the working group in your department.
 - Reach out to the committee with ideas.
 - Would you be willing to be part of a focus group if we have a collegewide workshop in late August?
- 4. Update on Study Group and full-time, day-time Graduate Programs Ken Johnson
 - Item postponed.
- 5. Q&A on Faculty Activity Report Paul Hart
 - Learn as we go.
 - Changes will be made.
 - Send your suggestions on improvements to Paul Hart, Ann Root, Tamara Dinev and Sharon Brown.
- 6. Committee Reports
 - Steering Committee working on adding language in the Bylaws to allow some discretion to the Chair of this Assembly to hold elections online.
 - Bylaws Committee clarifying language in Bylaws about NTT voting rights.
- 7. Election and Representatives from Departments
 - Nomination and Election of Chair of P&T. Bill Bosshardt was nominated and confirmed as Chair of the P&T Committee.
 - Bylaws Anna Agapova continues; James Wainberg nominated and confirmed; Sunil Babbar nominated and confirmed.
 - IPEC nominations and confirmations: David Fang; Ravi Behara; Karen Dye
 - University Faculty Senate confirmed members: Anna Agapova, Anil Bilgihan, Gary Castrogiovanni, Richard Gendler, Mark Kohlbeck, Kuntal Banerjee (ex-officio)
- 8. New Business
 - Paul Hart asked that the Steering and Bylaws committee meet to clarify the appointment dates for faculty who serve on committees/councils.
- 9. Dean's Message to Faculty Dean Gropper
 - Participated in the Provost's finalist open forum.

- The College of Business AACSB reaccreditation has been renewed for another five years.
- Presentation given at the Palm Beach Development Board
 - Very proud of rankings the College has received. They are an external recognition of our internal quality of the delivery.
 - In the last 5 years 4 of our students have been recognized in the Forbes 30 Under 30.
 - Supporting our people, organizations and students
- Congratulations to Roland Kidwell and Anil Bilgihan for receiving Fulbright Scholarships for next year.
- Roland Kidwell has resigned his role as department chair, so the process is underway to appoint a new Chair. Internal applications are being accepted from the Management Programs faculty.
- Sofia Johan was awarded the Scholar of the Year award at the University level.
- Anna Agapova won the Online Faculty award for the University.
- Eric Chiang is leaving for a great opportunity at UNLV.
- The Dean opened up for Q&A. There were no questions, so the meeting was adjourned.

Meeting is adjourned.